Gemmology and Geology

I have been a busy gemmologist and appraiser for the last few months and thus have not posted a lot of information on my blog. As you may have surmised from the passion I try to put into my blog,  I love what I do and also enjoy the many friends I have made through my work.

At the end of September, I was pleased to go to Chicago for a conference hosted by Gemworld International that had apprx 300 delegates. In addition to being a great conference with lots of information about what is going on in my industry,  I was able to reconnect in person with friends from the UK but also to meet some colleagues from the Association of Independent Jewellery Valuers of which I am a Canadian member. This is an Association I cherish for the flow of information and support we give to each other. However, some of these people I have never met except on line. It would be nice to one day meet them all–put it on my bucket list.

However, about this time, I also did a local gem show and reconnected with a friend from Kingston. I have not seen Brad for a couple of years although we were both on the Board of Directors of the The Canadian Gemmological Association at the same time. Our paths are a little different and thus we don’t connect as often as I would like. I have known him for many years and at different conference and lectures I have come to know him and consider him a friend.

He informed me of a field trip and fundraiser being done by the Friends of Murphy Point.  This is a park in Eastern Ontario -a little north of Kingston. It was a geological trip and an expedition into the Silver Queen mine in Murphy Point park. Now, being a gemmologist does not mean I know a lot about geology (even though a lot people think it does) and I thought this sounded like fun. What a way to spend a weekend off!

I must say it didn’t disappoint. Brad is one of those rare people that can bring scientific principals that he understands to a level that the non geological  person can understand. The 20 people on this trip all were interesting and friendly and even with the bit of rain that fell I believe we all enjoyed ourselves.

This tour is one that you can do–at least the part through the park and into a mica mine that was in operation in the 1920’s in Murphy Point Park. Look for it as something to do next summer if you are in Eastern Ontario.

Inside the Mica mine in front of Apatite
    Inside the Mica mine in front of Apatite crystals section

I am now looking forward to once again welcoming Dr. Cigdem Lule to Toronto for a series of Workshops that she is teaching and the CGA is hosting on November 13 and 14, 2014.

Then the evening of the 14th is also the Canadian Gemmological Associations Annual General Meeting and the Graduation dinner. It is a wonderful evening of fellowship of older members mixing and welcoming the new members about to start on their path.  This year it is also a time of electing the new Board of Directors .

I look forward to talking to people about their gems and the stories that they share with me about family, history or history about to take place (sometimes I find out about the way someone is getting asked to be married before the bride actually gets asked). If you have questions about gems or gemmology (not geology) I look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

